Voice Lost

shhhhhh…hushhhhhh…quiet now!
don’t say a word
no sound to escape
no noise to come from you

I silence you
not with my hands
not with my mouth
but with your shame and fear

Fear….
that dance of cold shadows
imagined and unimagined horrors
is that which takes
your voice.

One thought on “Voice Lost

  1. I’m sorry it took me so long to acknoledge your post. I think you rocked my world. I too am a survivor, and yes the silence still haunts me sometimes. Please post your poem to Word Wizard, and any where else you can. Those that don’t understand what it is like, need to hear, or read. Those that do know, need to read that someone has spoken up for them, and now they can also. rest gently please. dusty

Leave a Reply

