New Beginnings

A new year.  A new decade.  A clean slate.  A fresh new page.  However you want to look at it, this is the time of year when most stop and reflect on the past year and make lists of what they want in the new year. Ambitious resolutions are plentiful.  A month or two into the year, many people realize they just aren’t going to be able to DO all the things they said or thought they would.

Here’s what I suggest and what I will be doing.  Each day I will begin anew.  I may even break it into half days, hours and sometimes even moments.  What will I DO in that time?  I’ll do my best given the situation at that time.  I’ll live as a survivor and not a victim.  I’ll thrive.  I’ll love myself.  I’ll do my very best to leave the past in the past.  I will do this knowing that I am human and that I do not have to wait till the new year to start anew.  I can do it at any time I feel I need to wipe the slate clean. ANY TIME I want a new beginning, I can have it.

Be gentle with yourself.  Accept that there are going to be some rough patches but that’s ok.  If you ate an extra cookie because you were feeling lonely – well so be it.  Choose not to eat another in the next moment.  If you stayed in rather than going out with friends because you were feeling fearful – that’s ok.  You can try again another time.  Engaged in unhealthy behaviour because you were triggered?  It sucks…and you feel bad enough about it so rather than berating yourself – just let it go.  It’s done.  Choose not to do it the next day.

 

A new beginning.  Whenever YOU want it.  Not determined by a calendar.  Isn’t that freaking awesome!?

Leave a Reply

