speak to your inner child

Try spending time with your inner child.  Help him/her to grow.  Let them know you are there.  One way I do that is by writing.  I am often aware of when I am reacting from my ‘5 year old’ self.  That child has taught me a lot and will continue to do so.  Something I wrote in October of 2007 after a particularly upsetting event.  You will see that my words have simply fallen freely to the page – no editing – no proper prose.  You might want to try it sometime.  I have found it helps me and perhaps it will help you too.

October 6, 2007 – Talking to my inner child

Child – know that you are good
Child – know that you are whole
Child – know that I will protect you

I know you were not to blame.  Hush my darling girl…..be still.  You are loved.  Wrap your arms around yourself and feel me holding you.  I honour you.  I know you have been hurt so much and by so many.  You are safe now.  I will hold your hand and help you to grow.  Yes….you must grow up.  Yes….it can be scary at times but I am here.  We will walk together.

My sweet girl, maintain your sense of awe and wonder in life.  For so long you have lived in fear.  For so long you have had to stand guard.  You are safe now.  It is time to release the fear.  It is time to let go of the control you needed and allow yourself to be.  Laugh with complete abandon.  Let down your guard.  Be love.  Feel love.  Let it come.

My dear girl ~ You shine

Claim your place in the world.

My darling girl ~ You belong

12 thoughts on “speak to your inner child

  1. marjakathriver says:

    The inner child is one of my favorite topics! I founded and maintain THE BLOG CARNIVAL AGAINST CHILD ABUSE. We have editions traveling around to host blogs each month. This post would be great for our carnival’s Healing & Therapy category. Would you consider submitting it? Details and handy links (even a widget on my sidebar) are at my blog. Thanks, in advance! We’d love to have you join us!

  2. Dan Hays says:

    Wonderful words you are saying here to your inner child! Yes, I know the feeling of being aware of reacting from your 5 year old self! And when I ignored him (like I was taught to do) he tried more and more to get me to listen to him! Until I learned to honor where he is and pay attention! “I know you are not to blame!” Getting that message to my inner child, and having him gradually learn to believe it, was a huge transition point for me! I just love the way your words came out for that precious child. Thank you for sharing it with us!

    Dan

    • cyncee says:

      Hi Dan,
      Thank you so much for taking the time to write and share your insights. I look forward to reading your words and also hope you will come back to visit my blog again some time.

  3. Just Be Real says:

    Very good post. Thank you for sharing. Blessings.

  4. Thank you so much for joining us this month for The Bog Carnival Against Child Abuse. I never get tired of talking about the inner child and its aspects in healing! Yay! I found, too, when doing the writing part, it helps to write from my child self with my non-dominant hand. So many good techniques!

    I’ve been talking with Dan Hays over at Twitter and I think he’s going to host a carnival edition in June with the theme specifically about the inner child. I think that will be great! Hey, thanks for you tweets over there about the carnival. You rock!

    • cyncee says:

      Thank you for inviting me to participate. It was an honour to do so and I look forward to reading and sharing more.
      As for rocking?! Hell yes! There are a whole bunch of us rocking the topic and the more we speak – the better the opportunity to raise awareness and stop CSA! Thanks for your encouragement.

  5. cornnut32 says:

    this is beautiful, thanks for sharing. i need to try this myself.

    • cyncee says:

      Thank you for your comment cornnut32. Just let the feelings and words flow…and if you are so inclined, please let me know how you find the experience.

  6. Have you ever tried writing with your non-dominant hand when talking to your inner child? In using the non-dominant hand to write, you are allowing the mind to get out of the way and giving the inner child a chance to talk back to you. It is a wonderful exercise. I have even done it with crayons instead of pen or pencil.

    Thanks for sharing this wonderful care that you are taking of your inner child. One of my inner children felt that she was so bad that she refused to see the angels around her that were waiting to help care for her if she would allow it. Finally she allowed me to get close and to even climb into my lap so that I could hold her. It took a lot of patience and gentleness on my part to get her to let me near her. I am glad that she did.

    • cyncee says:

      Thank you for commenting and sharing your techniques. I have been known to spend time with a box of crayons and lots of blank paper. It helps on many levels.

  7. Dan Hays says:

    Isn’t it wonderful how much the inner child discussion resonates for us all and stirs up this lively string of comments! I think it’s because inner child is such a powerful component of healing! It has been for me.
    Dan

Leave a Reply

