Allow yourself to feel good

‘Allow yourself to feel good’…..these are words that came to me via email from a wonderful friend yesterday.  She went on to say that while it was necessary for me to deal with all the pain and crap I am facing right now, that she wondered if I allow myself the opportunity to be happy too.  I was taken aback at first as I have always thought people saw me as a joyful, happy and mostly positive person.  In fact I felt almost defensive at first and then I realized that was my ego getting in the way.  The message was coming from someone who is genuine and perceptive and truly a friend.  There would be no intent for her to state this other than from a place of genuine care.  I let the words sit with me for a while and they have been a wonderful reminder to me.

Often times we are so much more familiar with negative thoughts than with those which bring joy.  We are surrounded by many sources of pleasure but yet rarely allow ourselves to focus on them.   Taking time to list the things that make us feel good in a single day is one way to be mindful of what brings pleasure to us.  The sound of a bird chirping, the feel of a gentle autum rain on our skin, the way the leaves look as they dance in the wind, the smell of chai tea, the taste of chocolate.  It could be a meal lovingly prepared and shared with a friend, a smile from a stranger passing on the street, the feeling of accomplishment when you pay a bill.   On any given day the list will differ in length and experiences.  What matters is being mindful of these items.

We have been programed to enjoy things through a screen of sorts.  We have dimished our appreciation of them.  It is now time to allow ourselves to fully experience good things.  Fully experience joy and happiness and pleasure.  It is our right.  Allow yourself to feel good.  Allow yourself to be happy.  It’s okay to do that.   Really.

Thank you my friend. 🙂

IMG_8609

6 thoughts on “Allow yourself to feel good

  1. Tracie says:

    Beautiful! It is a powerful thing to be able to remove that screen and fully experience the joy and pleasure of life!

    • cyncee says:

      I am so sorry that I did not respond to this sooner but I did not see the comments on this post till today.
      Thank you so much for commenting.
      It is so important for survivors to learn to accept joy and know it our RIGHT as human beings….

  2. Being able to finally experience joy and peace and laughter is the only reason to keep going through the pain of abuse so that you can let go of it and get it out of your life. Thanks for sharing this powerful reminder.

    • cyncee says:

      I did not see these comments earlier and so apologize for the delay in my response.

      You are so right – we need to move through the pain and let it go. Sometimes the journey through is just so difficult but it is necessary and the rewards are GREAT!

      Thank you for commenting.

  3. JBR says:

    Thank you for such a powerful post. Touched me.

    • cyncee says:

      My apologies for the delay in responding to your comment.
      I am grateful for your comment. To reach another person is one of life’s wonderful gifts.

Leave a Reply

