Reading Material

I thought I’d share a couple of books that I have found to be useful in the healing journey.  As an aside – I am trying to raise funds now to go and visit a place in Saskatoon that is almost identical to my ultimate dream for Voice Found.  It is an actual, physical house- a place for women to heal.  Called ‘Tamara’s Place”.  I just about fell out of my chair when I found it and am hopeful that they will be open to a visit and sharing information to help me do something similar in Ottawa.

Check it out here:  http://www.tamarashouse.sk.ca/aboutth.html

Now- on to some books:

First and foremost is ‘The Courage to Heal:  A Guide For Women Survivors of Childhood Sexual Abuse.”  Ellen Bass and Laura Davis.  This one book has been such a great resource for me and the exercises and workbook are highly recommended.

“Allies in Healing:  When the Person You Love Was Sexually Abused as a Child”.  This is a good read for partners  of survivors.  Written by Laura Davis.

“I Never Told Anyone:  Writing by Women Survivors of Childhood Sexual Abuse.”  Ellen Bass.  A note on this one though – it can be very triggering.


Leave a Reply

